Boogie Shoes

 
Remember when I said I would go running on New Year’s Day?

*

*

*

I did. Haha you thought for sure I was going to be all “I didn’t.” But I did.

And it was an awesome run. Short, but good for my first run in a month and a half.

image_1 (Enjoy my music selections? Cruel Summer was funny haha because it was winter and snowy, and Toes was funny not-even-a-little-haha because I could not feel mine so it was nice to hear an entire song dedicated to these things I thought I didn’t have.) 

I was happy to go only like 20 minutes because you know what? It was really freaking cold. And windy. I was properly dressed, et cetera, but my nose and my toes and my fingers were like “DUDE it is chilly, go home to your fireplace!” I did, eventually, but I resolved to fix one of those problems as best I could. New sneakers were in order.

I know, I know, twist my fricking arm to get me to buy new shoes. High-larious. But I actually felt justified in needing an extra pair of running shoes for this new cold weather exercise experience I’ve locked myself into. My current sneakers–which, by the way, I absolutely adore and will keep for warmer weather–are Nike Pegasus 28’s. I have narrow, underpronating feet with laughably high arches. My feet roll out something wicked and I need super cushioning type shoes, and these work really well. So, in my winter running shoes, I was looking for the same thing.

Now, I’ll be honest. I sort of made up “winter running shoes” in my head because aside from hiking sneakers like Merrills or somesuchbidness, I was sure that people’s feet just didn’t get that cold. I was wrong. I was inclined to believe that over regular street runners, trail runners would probably be better for the winter because the outsole is more rugged, the sole is made in such a way to be super grippy, and the top of the shoe/heel tends to be a little thicker and more waterproof. But they are usually super ugly and CLEARLY this is a factor in my safety.

Off to DSW we went. Yes, we. Steve was actually the primary purpose for this trip. He needed new running shoes and some new work shoes, too, but how could I *not* look? As he likes to point out that of DSW’s 20-odd rows of shoes and 30-0dd half-rows of clearance racks, approximately 4.3 are devoted to men’s shoes. The rest? Women’s. He’s not wrong. So, with Mr. Cinderella trying every single pair of dress shoes and sneakers on, I got bored (yes, I got bored at DSW–that’s umpossible). I resorted to taking photos of shoes and sending them to friends.

Exhibit A:

photo (Ugliest. Boots. Ever. I mean, come on: they are half Uggs–awful–and half Danskos–awful. Full disclosure, I OWN two pairs of Danskos but by no means think they are nice lookin’)

Exhibit B made it to Instagram:

image Snazz-o-rama, for sure. I really loved the pink ones!

I tried on some shoes for myself in my boredom, and I came across two styles I liked. One was a pair of Nikes that were “Shield” style. I mean, like, the sneaker was the SuperZoomer+4 or whatever, but they were the “Shield” version thereof (sort of like a trim package for a car? sure). I did a quick google of this (yes, I had that much time. Mr. Cinderella was trying all.the.shoes, remember?), and these are LEGIT winter running shoes. They are more waterproof, more windproof, and have more reflective material all over them because in the winter, it’s wetter, windier and colder, and darker. Shazam! Shoe heaven!

Except the SuperZoomer+4s were not that comfortable a style for my foot, so no dice.

Lo and behold,  right next to those, I found some Nike Pegasus 29 (one generation newer than my usual shoes) in the Trail version. They were extraordinarily comfortable. And not cheap. But I had a coupon and Mr. Cinderella was paying. And they are worth it. I love them.

I christened them on a quick freezing run yesterday morning:

image_2

It snowed yesterday in the early hours, and so the roads were slick and smoupy (that’s like smooshy and soupy)(it’s bad) but I was not deterred.

image_1

It was, again, wicked cold (that “40 degrees” thing on the app was WRONG) and the air was super dry, so despite some quick “ohmigod-I’m-gonna-wheeze-myself-to-death-if-I-don’t-pause” walk breaks, it was a decent, albeit quick run. I had hoped to go longer–like 30 minutes–but that cold air was harsh on my already-sore throat.

And, no lie, the playlist gods must have known I got new shoes, because at the end of my run, this was a-rockin’ on my iPod:

image_2

Completely unrelated to this (or, as my friends and I say, “speaking of bacon” or, in the alternative, “speaking of Susan Sarandon”), I want to give a big ole’ shout out to my friends at The Old Orchard House! They are buddies of mine and I’ve been dying for them to start a blog about their sweet country house–and they did! Bwa! Can’t wait to read along!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Boogie Shoes

  1. Dana says:

    So impressed you ran on New Year’s Day! I thought about it for about a half a second, then thought better and decided to eat some more of the ten pound box of mexican chocolate Glenn got me for Christmas.

  2. “M-m-m-ma-ma-ma…. boogie shoes.” This always makes me think of dancing on desks, and being Felicity Huffman. Also, I’m proud of you.

  3. Tammy says:

    Good for you! I don’t enjoy running much but admire those who do. Nice boogie shoes.

Leave a Reply

