2012 Cram Session: The Holi-la-la-la-la-Holidays

I left you last at Thanksgiving, which was lovely.

But this year’s main attraction–for me, at least–was Christmas. While yes, we owned this house last year by Christmas, it was a hot mess of a construction zone, and our Christmas morning here literally consisted of us stopping here between our apartment and my parents’ house, walking in the door, saying “Merry Christmas, I bought you a house” to each other, then leaving. Tis the stuff of holiday dreams!

This year, I started planning early. Like, October early. I was excited, you guise.

image_1 The house got decked out, we got a gorgeous tree:

 

image_4

…which the dogs have tried to eat/drink the water from/possibly hump since we brought it home and decorated it.

 

image_3

Edith ate three ornaments this year. Thanks, Edith.

The mantle was Merry and Bright and all be-stocking-ed.

image_5

We had like 30 something people over on the 15th–the house’s first anniversary!–for an open house of sorts. It was so much fun, and I had a blast decorating and cooking.

image_2 (Excellent proof that the new gray dining room is basically perfect, IMHO)

As you may know, I “don’t bake.” This is because I can’t do math, and I’m pretty imprecise about most things when it comes to cooking. But this year, I said what the hell and baked up a storm.

image_13

Christmas morning here was wonderful. We woke up, opened presents with the dogs, sat by the fire, and relaxed together until we left for my parents’ house.

image_7 image_6 The dogs had fun, clearly.

Then it snowed like wicked the other night, and Steve got to play with his snowblower, which he did not hate, I gather.

image_8

…and the dogs and I sat by the fire the whole time. I’ve been banned from shoveling snow, darn.

image_9

The season was not without mishaps. Take, for example, the apparent destruction that visited the manger at a friend’s party.

image_12  (seriously, I found it like this! It was not me!)

That brings us to now. Or, rather, 9.5 hours from now. New Year’s Eve is one of my favorite holidays because Steve and I, for the past 10 years, have spent the night in together, eating fabulously and drinking fabulous amounts of alcohol. The menu this year? Cold lobster with roasted garlic and lemon aioli, pistachio crusted roasted rack of lamb, blinis, creme fraiche, and caviar, and cava.

Happy New Year, everyone. See you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

