Dressing the dresser

I said I was done with my dresser–and I was–but I hadn’t yet dressed it up. I needed a lamp, and a tray to contain any baubles or trinkets that may find themselves resident in the hall. I am a big believer in trays. Cuts down on clutter and accumulation of crap.

I couldn’t find anything I liked, so I made something. A square tray (…ok, it was really a “basswood canvas” from the craft store because all their unfinished trays were either dinky or screamed “let’s have a gee-wilikers ho-down at Walmaert, yah!” And I do not go for that.) spray painted “14 karat gold” and a piece of black and white zigzag scrapbook paper Mod Podged later, we were in business. Hey, longest and most confusing sentence award right there.

20121103-101855.jpg

Throw in some nifty wood coasters from Target, a jar of antique lighters (…which I had already curated, if you will, in a prior room’s incarnation), and a baby shower placecard frame that I sprayed gold too, filled with an inappropriate photobooth shot of us from a recent wedding, and there’s my tray.

I also hung some new curtains. The white ones were really white. The new ones are greige and linen-y from the Nate Berkus line at Target. They are much more subtle and a lot less white.

And the lamp. I said I had plans for a lamp but I lied. Well, I changed my mind. Target FTW again, kids.

So she’s all dressed up now.

20121103-102828.jpg

And once more, with some help from my beloved Instagram filters.

20121103-102916.jpg

Don’t tell, but I found myself cruising craigslist this morning (…for furniture). I think I need a meeting or a sponsor or something.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Dressing the dresser

  1. I need to start spray painting stuff. It’s amazing how it can breathe a new life into things. Unfortunately, I live in a high-rise condo and open, well-ventilated areas aren’t exactly prolific.

    P.S. I have that lamp too (different shade, of course). Muy bien.

Leave a Reply

