Veggie CSA Week 10, and a Yard Update

This is the kind of week we LOVE. The bright and colorful veggies of summer are here, and they are gorgeous. I’ll let the photos do the talking this week.

20120814-195722.jpg

20120814-195649.jpg

Amazing, gorgeous, and appetite-inducing. Even Aggie got in on the veggie-admiring action!

20120814-200638.jpg

And there were some big, beautiful sunflowers that I put in water on the mantle, then proceeded to take 1 million photos.

20120814-195922.jpg

20120814-195952.jpg
They are glorious next to our Mike Bryce painting.

And it wouldn’t be me if I didn’t Instagram things to death…but this cried out for a neat filter!

20120814-200133.jpg

…and so did this one:

20120814-200159.jpg

Veggies are such great models.

Our garden has been coming along nicely. Most of my tomato plants are lush and bearing tons of as-yet-ripened ‘maters. The cherry tomatoes are packed with little green marbles, and I’ve pulled maybe two dozen red ones off so far.

20120814-200351.jpg

Unfortunately, I’ve had a few visitors to my tomato plants (not the potted ones on the deck, but the ones in the ground):

20120814-200449.jpg

That, my friend, is the tomato-loving hornworm. I’ve pulled a few of these juicy bastards off my plants, but it’s not too bad. We’ll live.

My carrots and radishes (in window boxes on the rock) are coming along slowly, but surely. My cilantro bolted beyond hope after a few weeks, but the basil and oregano are doing great.

We also limbed up the dreadful gigantic holly bushes out front and did some planting under them to fill some of that gap. The hollies are going to be completely sacrificed eventually, in favor of something much smaller and easier to tame.

We’ve enjoyed having a yard in which to garden so far. So much so that we’re looking forward to next summer. We’re thinking hops for Steve’s beer, potatoes, and maybe some raised beds.

How grows your garden?

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Veggie CSA Week 10, and a Yard Update

  1. Tammy says:

    I really have to fight those horn worms. What do you do?

    • Kelly says:

      So far, I’ve just been picking them off and throwing them out. Had I realized sooner that “duh, these could be an issue” I would have gotten and used Bt. Alas, it may be too late for that. I’ve only found like 4 on 8 plants, and two of those were already covered in the wasp larvae, which I guess is good for me.

  2. inherchucks says:

    Wow! That is a HUGE haul!! So many beautiful colors and flavors đŸ™‚

    Come and link up to this week’s party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/08/whats-in-the-box-38/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

