Breakfast, Insh’allah

I had to post again. Sorry.

I’m home today with some wicked allergies. So, the upside is….? Well, I got to make breakfast. On a za’atar kick, this was today’s breakfast:

20120425-095726.jpg

Whole wheat pita (pitae?) lightly toasted, drizzled with za’atar, lemon juice, and olive oil, topped with non fat greek yogurt, and sprinkled with pine nuts. It. Is. Delicious.

Mayjah thanks to my bff Hala, who turned me on to za’atar at the breakfast table. Hala has a wonderful foodsense, rooted in her Palestinian heritage. I eat more delicious things as a result of her influence. Thanks, Hayluh 🙂

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Breakfast, Insh’allah

  1. What is this stuff, and where do I find it?

    • Kelly says:

      Za’atar is a blend of arabic spices, including sumac and sesame (and a thousand other things). I usually add salt and a bit of fresh lemon, and sometimes garlic powder. Its flavors come out best with a fat–olive oil usually– and it makes it go a long way. I find that it is more palatable this way, rather than sprinkled onto things dry. I bought my very small container at Whole Foods, but you can find it arabic markets or on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

